By continuing to browse this site, you agree to the placement of cookies on your computer so that we may propose services and offers adapted to your centres of interest and measure the use of our services. Click here for more information on cookies and how to configure them

Bus2025: RATP’s plan for a 100% eco-friendly bus fleet by 2025

Since 2014, RATP has been engaged in a major technological and ecological transformation with the goal of converting the majority of its fleet to electric-powered buses by 2025: that is what Bus2025 is all about.

vign_bus2025This ambitious plan was developed out of STIF’s determination to eliminate diesel buses from its network in the Ile-de-France region.

By 2025, RATP want to roll out a 100% eco-friendly bus fleet in the Ile-de-France region, including electric and biogas buses, in keeping with targets to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 20% inscribed in the Ile-de-France urban transport plan.

The energy transition and reducing the impact of climate change are top priorities for RATP.

With Bus2025, RATP will thoroughly transform its industrial facilities (bus depots) and fully engage in the energy transition phase for its bus fleet. This transition is already underway with the purchase of the first hybrid buses, a vital step before the deployment of electric buses.

RATP is committed to reducing greenhouse gas emissions and energy consumption per passenger/km by 20% from the 2004 level by 2020.

The Bus2025 plan will reduce RATP’s carbon footprint by 50%.

Bus2025: Key dates


The energy transition will be conducted in 3 phases:

Today: step up the share of hybrid buses in the RATP fleet. Henceforth, all new bids to tender will be for hybrid, electric and natural gas (NGV) buses.

2015-2017: testing and trial runs of all new electric bus technologies and existing recharging systems. Preparation of the programme to adapt bus depots.

2017-2025: launch of bids to tender for the massive deployment of electric and biogas buses.


RATP’s goal for 2025 is to build a bus fleet that is approximately 80% electric
and 20% biogas, a renewable non-fossil fuel
.

2015, our first year of experimenting with electric buses


RATP launched a vast trial programme to test electric buses under real operating conditions with passengers for the period 2015-2017. These tests are designed to prepare bids to tender for high volume purchases of electric buses as of 2017, with massive shipments as of 2019.

The first 100% electric bus line by 2016

WEB_13011D032Starting in 2016, RATP will operate a 100% electric bus line with standard buses under real operating conditions. This will be a European first for a fleet of this size. Line 341 (Charles de Gaulle-Etoile - Porte de Clignancourt) will be equipped with about 20 100% electric standard buses supplied by Bluebus, a subsidiary of the Bolloré group. The bus will only be recharged at night, at the bus depot. With an autonomy of 180 km, the buses will be able to circulate without needing to be recharged during regular service hours. Like the current standard bus, these electric buses will have a capacity of over 90 passengers.

Other bus manufacturers will also participate in the trial phase

In addition to the Bluebus project, as of year-end 2015 RATP wants to begin testing other electric bus technologies and recharging systems on two benchmark bus lines with passengers: line 21 (Gare Saint-Lazare - Stade Charlety Porte de Gentilly) and line 147 (Eglise de Pantin - Sevran-Avenue Ronsard).

WEB_13305D01

RATP has signed agreements to test electric buses with three European manufacturers – Heuliez Bus (France), Irizar (Spain) and Solaris (Poland) – and with two Chinese manufacturers that are in joint ventures with European firms –Yutong, in conjunction with Dietrich Carebus (France), and Ebusco. These buses will begin circulating as of late 2015. RATP will test one vehicle per manufacturer.

 


In addition to testing rolling stock and battery autonomy, RATP is also preparing
to adapt its 25 bus depots by connecting them to the power grid
.


 

RATP will be able to rely on its experience in the transformation and distribution of electrical power for its RER, metro and tramway networks, and on its relations with RTE and ErDF. The programme will tackle the problems of hooking up with the ErDF network and/or the RATP network, and will build a power architecture for each bus depot to enable them to transform and distribute energy for an average of up to 200 buses per depot.

 

Goals of the 2015-2017 trial period

WEB_13011D038Through these tests, RATP will be able to generate feedback on the performance of the powertrain (batteries, engines) and recharging systems, with support from the RATP-EDF partnership signed in 2014.

For RATP, it is also the occasion to measure the repercussions of this new technology on operations (impact on machinists, passengers, local residents, etc.) and maintenance (reliability of rolling stock, changes to industrial and maintenance facilities, and adaptation of the bus depots’ power supply).

 

The hybrid bus, a transition towards the electric bus

While waiting for electric bus manufacturers to meet all of the technical and economic constraints of operating within a dense urban environment, RATP and STIF are investing in hybrid buses.

Today, RATP and STIF have ordered 523 hybrid buses, of which 63 are already in circulation on the RATP network. By mid-2016, all 523 hybrid buses will be in circulation.

Development of a biogas bus line


Adapting industrial facilities

To increase the number of biogas-powered buses, RATP must adapt its bus depots. In agreement with STIF, the first bus depot to be converted to 100% NGV will be the Créteil site, which has accommodated 90 standard NGV buses since 1999. Since 1 June 2015, these 90 buses have all been powered by BioNGV. By 2016, all 140 of the depot’s standard buses will be fuelled with BioNGV. By 2017-2018, all of the Créteil depot’s some 200 buses, both standard and articulated, will be powered by biogas.

BD page_bus2025

The Bus2025 plan: Key figures


RATP operates 350 bus lines in the Île-de-France region

The RATP bus fleet comprises 4,500 vehicles, 97% of which are diesel buses

60% of its buses comply with Euro 5 standards or higher

RATP, with funding from STIF, will purchase 550 hybrid buses by mid-2016

As of 2016, RATP will equip its first 100% electric bus line

In 2016, all standard buses at the Créteil bus depot will be powered with biogas

17,000 employees (machinists, maintenance staff, and engineers) work in the bus department

1.1 billion passengers were transported by bus in 2014 (+15% in 10 years).

2025 target: a 100% eco-friendly bus fleet comprised of about 80% electric buses and 20% natural gas (NGV) buses

The Bus2025 plan will reduce RATP’s carbon footprint by 50%

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies pour vous proposer des services et des offres adaptés à vos centres d’intérêt et mesurer la fréquentation de nos services. Pour en savoir plus et paramétrer les cookies

Bus2025 : pour un parc 100% écologique en 2025

Avec le plan Bus2025, la RATP s’est engagée, dès 2014, dans une évolution technologique et écologique majeure avec l’objectif de convertir majoritairement son parc de bus à l’électrique à l’horizon 2025.

vign_bus2025Ce plan ambitieux répond à la volonté du STIF de supprimer les bus diesel du réseau francilien.

La RATP veut disposer, d’ici 2025, en Île-de-France, d’un parc 100% écologique, comprenant des bus tout électrique et des bus à gaz renouvelable, en cohérence avec les objectifs de réduction de 20% des émissions de gaz à effets de serre inscrits dans le Plan de Déplacement Urbain d’Île-de-France.

La transition énergétique et l’atténuation du changement climatique constituent des enjeux prioritaires pour la RATP

Avec ce plan, la RATP va transformer en profondeur son outil industriel (les centres bus) et entrer pleinement dans une phase de transition énergétique pour son parc bus. Une transition qui a déjà commencé avec les premières acquisitions de bus hybrides, étape obligatoire avant le déploiement de bus électriques.

La RATP s’engage à réduire ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre et sa consommation énergétique par voyageur.km de 20% d’ici 2020, par rapport à 2004.

Le plan Bus2025 permettra de diminuer de 50% le bilan carbone de la RATP.

Bus2025, les échéances


Cette transition énergétique se fait en 3 phases :

Aujourd’hui : renforcement de la place des bus hybrides dans le parc RATP. Tous les nouveaux appels d’offres concernent des bus hybrides, électriques et GNV (Gaz Naturel pour Véhicules).

2015-2017 : tests et expérimentations de toutes les technologies de bus électriques et systèmes de recharge existants ; préparation du programme d’adaptation des centres Bus.

2017-2025 : lancement d’appels d’offres pour un déploiement massif de bus électriques et biogaz.


L’objectif de la RATP pour 2025 est un parc constitué d’environ 80% de bus électriques et 20% de bus à gaz renouvelable et non fossile.


2015, année des premières expérimentations de bus électriques


La RATP a lancé un grand programme d’expérimentations d’autobus électriques en conditions réelles d’exploitation avec voyageurs sur la période 2015-2017. Ces expérimentations ont pour objectif de préparer les appels d’offres pour l’achat de bus en volume à partir de 2017, pour des livraisons massives à partir de 2019.

Une ligne 100% électrique dès 2016

WEB_13011D032La RATP va exploiter une ligne 100% électrique avec des bus standard dès 2016 en conditions réelles. Ce sera une 1ère européenne pour une flotte de cette taille. La ligne 341 (Charles de Gaulle-Etoile - Porte de Clignancourt) sera équipée d’une vingtaine de bus standard 100% électriques de la marque BLUEBUS, filiale du groupe Bolloré. La charge des bus se fera uniquement la nuit, en centre bus. Ils auront une autonomie de 180 km, ce qui leur permet de circuler sans avoir besoin d’être rechargé lors du service. Comme les bus standard actuels, ces bus électriques ont une capacité de plus de 90 passagers.

Les autres constructeurs mobilisés pour les expérimentations

Outre le projet BLUEBUS, la RATP a la volonté de tester dès fin 2015 sur deux lignes de référence avec voyageurs : les lignes 21 (Gare Saint-Lazare - Stade Charlety Porte de Gentilly) et 147 (Eglise de Pantin - Sevran-Avenue Ronsard), d’autres technologies de bus électriques et systèmes de recharges.

WEB_13305D01

La RATP a signé des accords pour expérimenter des bus des constructeurs suivants : trois constructeurs européens, Heuliez Bus (France), Irizar (Espagne) et Solaris (Pologne), ainsi que deux constructeurs chinois associés à des entreprises européennes : Yutong associé au français Dietrich Carebus et Ebusco. Ces bus seront mis en circulation à partir de fin 2015. Un véhicule par constructeur sera testé par la RATP.

 

 


Au-delà des tests sur le matériel roulant et l’autonomie de ses batteries, la RATP prépare l’adaptation de ses 25 centres bus et leur raccordement au réseau électrique.


 

La RATP pourra s’appuyer sur son expérience dans le domaine de la transformation et distribution de l’énergie électrique (pour les réseaux RER, Métro et Tramway) et ses relations avec RTE et ErDF. Il s’agira de traiter des problématiques de raccordement au réseau ErDF et/ou au réseau RATP et de bâtir l’architecture électrique dans chaque centre bus permettant de transformer et distribuer l’énergie jusqu’aux quelque 200 bus en moyenne par centre.

 

Les objectifs des expérimentations 2015-2017

WEB_13011D038A travers ces expérimentations, la RATP va pouvoir réaliser un retour d’expérience sur la performance de la chaîne de traction (batteries, moteurs) et des systèmes de recharge en s’appuyant notamment sur le partenariat RATP-EDF signé en 2014.

Pour la RATP, c’est aussi l’occasion de mesurer les conséquences de cette nouvelle technologie sur l’exploitation (impact pour le machiniste, les voyageurs, les riverains, …) et sur la maintenance (fiabilité du matériel, adaptation des équipements industriels et de la maintenance, adaptation de l’alimentation du centre bus…).

 

Le bus hybride, la transition vers le bus électrique

En attendant que les bus électriques développés par les industriels répondent à l’ensemble des contraintes techniques et économiques qu’exige l’exploitation en milieu urbain dense, la RATP et le STIF s’équipent de bus hybrides.

Aujourd’hui, la RATP et le STIF ont commandés 523 bus hybrides, 63 bus circulent déjà sur le réseau RATP. D’ici mi 2016, les 523 bus commandés seront en circulation.

Le développement de la filière biogaz


Une adaptation de l’outil industriel

Pour augmenter le nombre de bus roulant au biogaz, la RATP doit adapter ses centres bus. En accord avec le STIF, le 1er centre bus qui sera converti totalement au GNV est le site de Créteil qui accueille 90 bus standard GNV depuis 1999. Depuis le 1er juin 2015, tous ces bus sont alimentés en BioGNV. D’ici 2016, tous les bus standard du centre, soit 140 véhicules seront avitaillés en BioGNV. A l’horizon 2017-2018, l’ensemble des bus du centre (standards + articulés), soit environ 200 bus, roulera au biogaz.

BD page_bus2025

Bus2025, les chiffres


La RATP exploite 350 lignes de bus en Île-de-France.

Le parc Bus RATP compte 4500 véhicules, dont 97 % de bus diesel.

60 % des bus sont conformes à la norme Euro 5 ou supérieure.

La RATP, avec l’aide du STIF, va acquérir 550 bus hybrides d’ici mi 2016.

Dès 2016, la RATP va équiper une première ligne de bus 100% électrique.

En 2016, tous les bus standards du centre de Créteil rouleront au biogaz.

17 000 agents (machinistes, mainteneurs, ingénieurs) travaillent au département Bus.

1,1 milliard de passagers transportés par bus en 2014 (+15% en 10 ans).

L’objectif pour 2025 : un parc 100% écologique constitué d’environ 80% de bus électriques et 20% de bus GNV

Le plan Bus2025 permettra de diminuer de 50% le bilan carbone de la RATP