Culture

Line 14: Discover the artwork of the artist Kimsooja at Mairie de Saint-Ouen station

Have you ever noticed the artwork 'To Breathe' by the artist Kimsooja at Mairie de Saint-Ouen station on Line 14?

"To Breathe" is the name of the installation by the contemporary artist Kimsooja, situated in the interchange hall of Mairie de Saint-Ouen station.

This artwork is an immersive installation that utilizes the principle of light diffraction to create a sensory and poetic atmosphere meant to resonate with all generations of travelers. On the glass walls surrounding the void of the interchange hall overlooking the metro tracks, rays of light break into multiple spectrums of color, acting as a 'three-dimensional painting,' transforming the space. Each moment becomes a unique experiential instance.

oeuvre de l'artiste Kimsooja à la station Mairie de Saint-Ouen

Kimsooja, a contemporary artist

Kimsooja is a multidisciplinary and conceptual contemporary artist from Korea. Her work encompasses performances, films, photographs, and installations that play with light and sound. She invites us to question our existences, the world we live in, and more broadly, the challenges of our time.

The cultural policy of RATP

Since its inception, RATP has reserved a significant space for art within its stations. The fusion of transportation and culture has always been essential. This objective continues today, driven by two strong intentions of the company:

  • Making art and culture accessible to everyone.
  • Enhancing and embellishing the daily commutes of its customers.

On a daily basis, RATP's cultural policy manifests across its network through the presence, staging, or integration of various forms of artistic expression such as painting, photography, music, and poetry.

Culture

Culture

Ligne 14 : découvrez l'oeuvre de l'artiste Kimsooja à la station Mairie de Saint-Ouen

Avez-vous déjà remarqué l'oeuvre "To Breathe" de l'artiste Kimsooja, à la station Mairie de Saint-Ouen, sur la ligne 14 ? On vous la présente !

"To Breathe", c'est le nom de l'installation de l’artiste contemporaine Kimsooja, qui a pris place dans la salle d’échange de la station Mairie de Saint-Ouen.

Cette oeuvre est une installation immersive, utilisant le principe de diffraction de la lumière pour créer une atmosphère sensorielle et poétique destinée à toucher toutes les générations de voyageurs. Sur les parois vitrées qui ceinturent le vide de la salle d’échange donnant sur les voies du métro, les rayons de lumière se décomposent en de multiples spectres de couleur, agissant comme une « peinture en trois dimensions » métamorphosant l’espace. Chaque instant devient le moment d’une expérience unique.


oeuvre de l'artiste Kimsooja à la station Mairie de Saint-Ouen

Kimsooja, une artiste de renommée internationale

Kimsooja est une artiste contemporaine pluridisciplinaire et conceptuelle originaire de Corée. Son oeuvre se compose de performances, de films, de photographies ou encore d’installations jouant avec la lumière et le son. Elle invite à questionner nos existences, le monde dans lequel nous vivons et plus largement les enjeux de notre temps.

La politique culturelle de la RATP

Depuis sa création, la RATP laisse une place importante à l’art au cœur de ses stations. Associer transport et culture a toujours été essentiel. Cet objectif perdure encore aujourd’hui, avec deux volontés fortes de l’entreprise :

  • Rendre l’art et la culture accessibles à tous ;
  • Adoucir et agrémenter les déplacements quotidiens de ses clients.

Au quotidien, la politique culturelle de la RATP se concrétise sur le réseau qu’elle exploite par la présence, la mise en scène ou l’intégration de formes d’expressions artistiques diverses telles que la peinture, la photographie, la musique ou encore la poésie.

Culture